Notebooks.com Forums



Reply
Old 07-04-2008, 12:30 AM   #1 (permalink)
 
Status: Junior Member
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 6
Default Macbook Deal to good to be true? Should I buy it?

I found a Macbook on craigslist in my area for $380. It is a year old, still under warranty, looks to be in good condition, and here are the specs:


black, 2.16GHz processor speed, Intel Core 2 Duo, 120 Gb hdd, 2 gb SDRAM, Intel GMA 950

I am going into my senior year of high school, and am planning on buying a macbook right before going to college in a year.

I've been advised to wait on buying a laptop because of how quickly technology changes...but how can I pass this up??

So if this macbook is in good shape, should I buy it, or wait for a year until the start of college?
raydanator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2008, 09:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
 Shan Gee's Avatar
 
Status: Member
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 70
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by raydanator View Post
I found a Macbook on craigslist in my area for $380. It is a year old, still under warranty, looks to be in good condition, and here are the specs:


black, 2.16GHz processor speed, Intel Core 2 Duo, 120 Gb hdd, 2 gb SDRAM, Intel GMA 950

I am going into my senior year of high school, and am planning on buying a macbook right before going to college in a year.

I've been advised to wait on buying a laptop because of how quickly technology changes...but how can I pass this up??

So if this macbook is in good shape, should I buy it, or wait for a year until the start of college?
Even refurbished Macbooks don't come around this price, so this is definitely not a realistic price to pay for a MacBook with these specs and condition. I did a Google search on "$380 Macbook" and came up with the following forum page:
Anyone want a Mac Book 13" for $380US - FPSadmin.com

The topic starter confirms that it's a scam on Craigslist! Don't waste your time, stay away from this. If it's too good to be true then it is most of the times!
__________________
- time tracking
Shan Gee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 07:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
 ChrisTheFeral's Avatar
 
Status: Forum Mod
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 474
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by raydanator View Post
I found a Macbook on craigslist in my area for $380. It is a year old, still under warranty, looks to be in good condition, and here are the specs:


black, 2.16GHz processor speed, Intel Core 2 Duo, 120 Gb hdd, 2 gb SDRAM, Intel GMA 950

I am going into my senior year of high school, and am planning on buying a macbook right before going to college in a year.

I've been advised to wait on buying a laptop because of how quickly technology changes...but how can I pass this up??

So if this macbook is in good shape, should I buy it, or wait for a year until the start of college?
I am not sure when the college year starts, but Intel and AMD are coming out with a new range of chips plus the mac book is well overdue for a major update and possibly a new design, if your college year starts at the start of next year, I'd guess to get one after apple update them - which is almost certain to be in the late 2nd half of this year, so January would be a goodish time to buy
__________________
The only fool bigger than the person who knows it all is the person who argues with him.
Don't worry TOO much about trying to stay alive, we are all going to die someday anyway...
ChrisTheFeral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 07:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
 Xavier's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 42
Default $380...could be a scam

Unfortunately there are quite a few scams on craigslist, so please be careful. Macbooks generally have high resale value, even ones that are a couple of generations old.
If you're looking for a second hand mac, I recommend buying from a reputable deaer (local if possible).
Take a look at comparable systems on eBay for comparison and remember if something sounds too good to be true it's probably a scam.
__________________
Xavier- Notebooks.com
Current Gear: MacBook Pro 15-inch 2.2GHz, Nikon D300, 8GB iPhone, Canon Vixia HF100, 40GB PS3, Sharp Aquos 42-inch HDTV, Epson Stylus R1800 printer, SlingBox Pro.

Notebooks Currently Reviewing: HP Mini-Note 2133, HP Pavilion tx2000z, Dell Inspiron 1525, Gateway M Series, ThinkPad X300, Lenovo IdeaPad u110.
Xavier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 09:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
Status: Junior Member
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 6
Default

Thanks for the help everyone...and yes unfortunately it is a scam...although a strange one at that. Sorry to waste your time!
raydanator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2008, 08:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
 ChrisTheFeral's Avatar
 
Status: Forum Mod
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 474
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by raydanator View Post
Thanks for the help everyone...and yes unfortunately it is a scam...although a strange one at that. Sorry to waste your time!
Don't worry about it, if you need any more help feel free to come back here
__________________
The only fool bigger than the person who knows it all is the person who argues with him.
Don't worry TOO much about trying to stay alive, we are all going to die someday anyway...
ChrisTheFeral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 11:28 AM   #7 (permalink)
 
Status: Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 95
Default Tell you two good Web site

Lesbian_____________________________________Hosting gd125301253012530
__________________
12530
BBgrave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2008, 03:04 AM   #8 (permalink)
 
Status: Junior Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 20
Default Angelling

Very good, hoped that writes a better article, here aoc gold want to propose that some my view, hoped the author holds reader's point of view, take them as the starting point, found the new breach, stood looks at the question in Age of Conan gold standpoint, like this will have is better, more real ffxi gil.
qinqin425 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2008, 08:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
 
Status: Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 24
Default Singapore-listed China Aviation Oil Q2 profit up 222%

Singapore-listed China Aviation Oil Corp Ltd (CAO) said Tuesday its net profit in the second quarter rose by 222 percent to $17.5 million compared with the same period of last year.Excluding the divestment gain of $134.8 million from the sale of the firm's 5 percent stake in a Spanish company Compaoa Logistica de Hidrocarburos (CLH) in Dofus Kamasthe second quarter last year, CAO said in a statement, its net profit in the second quarter this year was 222 percent higher than the corresponding period last year.This was mainly attributable to a gain on world of warcraft goldderivatives derived from physical jet fuel supply and higher volume of jet fuel procured and supplied, it said.In the second quarter, CAO procured and supplied 1.57 million metric tons jet fuel, which was an increase of about 73 percent as compared to the same quarter last year.For the first half of this year, the group's revenue was Final fantasy xi gil$2.8 billion compared to $1.1 billion for the same period last year.The increase was mainly attributable to the higher volume wow goldof jet fuel procured and supplied as well as the higher fuel prices, CAO said.CAO, once a major jet fuel supplier listedFFXI Gil on the Singapore Exchange (SGX), lost $550 million in oil derivatives trading in 2004 and applied to Singapore's High Court for judicial protection. After restructured, trading in shares of CAO resumed on the SGX in March, 2006.
cdef479 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2008, 09:31 PM   #10 (permalink)
 
Status: Junior Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 6
Default good!

bump the thread up.----------------------------------------------------------------our wow power leveling and wow gold site:buy wow power leveling,wow power leveling, cheap wow power leveling,wow power leveling,Cheap WoW Gold
__________________
WoW Power Leveling
ereieoty is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT. The time now is 06:32 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.1.0


Nav Item BG

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27